top of page

New Street Busk Oct 19th

New Street Records hosted their first busking event of the year at the SU Food&Drink Festival last Friday. Eight student musicians, solo-performers as well as the band Laguna Beach, performed their own songs or cover versions for an

afternoon in the SU courtyard. Now we wanted to give all of our performers a chance to introduce themselves and give you a little more information about them and their music. Check out their spotlights as well as some pictures from the day below!

If you're interested in performing yourself: NSR are planning to host regular busking events from now on, so just get in touch!

Jack Donald

Originally from south London, I’m just starting to get my feet wet in the live music scene after a couple of years off. Right now, I’m playing a bunch of songs written over the last 4 years, going for a bit of an acoustic sadboy vibe - all stripped and slowed down. That said, my music’s currently in a bit of a transitional phase - currently playing as a singer-songwriter, but with the aim of a new band in sight, looking to provide all the late-night introspection you need.

instagram: @jvckdonald

Jake Williams

My name is Jake and I’m from Carlisle. I started playing guitar nearly 4 years ago and have been songwriting for 2. I’ve only just started playing open mics in Manchester. I’m inspired by a number of artists, particularly Bob Dylan and Billy Bragg, but I also like heavier music like My Bloody Valentine and Pixies.

Moonseok Kwak

Biologically and physically from South Korea but, if you don’t mind me saying this, from Manchester, definitely maybe. StudyingSociology, final year. It would be an endless task to list my favourite bands and musicians. However if I have to choose one, it would be Radiohead. I’m also a big fan of bands come from Manchester, such as Oasis or Joy Division, and they are one of the reasons why I decided to study in Manchester. You can check my clumsy attempts to cover my favourite music (or even my stuff).

instagram: @plasticsije

Laguna Beach

We're a young, energetic and upcoming band with our musical roots coming from contrasting backgrounds. With all of us writingthis provides an eclectic input of music into our songs. We also take pride in our live performances with our Hawaiian themed shirts and our pure energy of performance.

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lagunabeachuk/

instagram: @lagunabeach_uk

Cameron Goon

My name is Cam and I make music under the name Neon Beings. It's sort of a mix between tame impala and chvrches. If you like tame impala then check out my youtube channel too, I’ve been covering some tame songs on the piano and I’ll probably be doing some frank ocean and mac demarco covers in the future. And if you wanna contact me / trash my music / collaborate then message my facebook page, I'm always up for working on music with other people.

youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVfXHPceR-WKoi7z4ml10Mw?pbjreload=10

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Neon-Beings

spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/2KP9US3D58FGU29qg87pM3?si=-6FdQsAQRgakwKy8XLE7IQ

James Green

I’m a guitarist who is influenced mainly by rock and blues but also a bit of folk. I used to play in a band called The Russian Cowboys, it’s a bit old now but our E.P is here (https://soundcloud.com/therussiancowboys). I’ve moved on and have been a solo guitarist/ singer-songwriter for the last year or so and I play at open mics and generally love to hang out and jam. I play a mixture of my own stuff and classic rock songs on my acoustic guitar. I have only recorded one song by myself and it’s a folk tale called “Dreams” (https://soundcloud.com/jamesgreenguitarist/dreams-better-quality).

Dora Noszkay

I’m a 19 year-old folk singer-songwriter who takes inspiration from the likes of Nick Drake, the Tallest Man on Earth and Fleet Foxes. I have been writing songs since the age of 13, and tend to accompany my songs with fingerstyle guitar parts.

bandcamp: https://dora-noszkay.bandcamp.com/

JasmineA

Hello! My name is JasmineA and I am a singer/songwriter currently studying International Relations MA. I have always had a way with music. I couldn't explain it and i couldn't put it into quantitive and theoretical methods. I could just do and perform. I am that one friend who can make a jingle to and about anything instantly. I have only just begun to try and publish some of my songs and am hoping to perform more in Manchester. If you want to hear more you can find me at www.youtube.com/user/donLETanyONEtellUno

bottom of page